On arranged marriages

You talk of marriage like you talk of going to a park
I dress my best hoping for sunshine and the fragrance of geraniums
I think of hopping around and the swaying of my body on the swing
I dream of the song of birds, the smell of the earth
I hope a butterfly will come flapping to rest on my shoulder

You talk of marriage like you talk of going to a park
Forgetting that it rains and the sun goes out
Forgetting that swings break but life goes on
The birds they fly away, the earth dries up
The butterflies don’t adorn worn out flowers

You talk of marriage like you talk of going to a park
As if it’s something that’ll solve every problem
As if it’s what life truly is for
As if I will suddenly know why my heart beats the way it does
And I’ll know all the secrets it has hidden from me for so long

You talk of marriage like you talk of going to a park
When everywhere around me they only fall apart
You told me stories of my prince in shining armour forbidding him his humanity
And I must choose mine from a stack of pictures on the basis of his vanity
What happens when I know that the prince like me is in need of an armour

Leave a Reply

