Lost

It crept inside my soul as I woke up
By the time I opened my eyes it was gone
I ran and closed the windows so I could scream
And cried bitterly as I waited for the dawn

It took away from me something dear to me
Something I thought I could never lose
I searched the chests of my mind that night
Not knowing why it was me that it had to choose

As the grey clouds hovered over the hillside
And mothers rushed their children back inside
I stood there to feel the needles pierce me
Those who don’t feel need no place to hide

The only thing I felt is the lack of feeling I told people and they told me I was insane
I sat baffled under the trees and held them tight
For I knew I’d have to walk down the memory lane

In every direction I went determined to find it
I didn’t care how far it could’ve gone
Thought I’d change it thought I’d save
My mind an empty canvas my heart a sad song

One thought on “Lost

Leave a Reply

