On learning a new language

Ca c’est ma vie et je l’aime – http://wp.me/p6DOiF-8O

So I know quiet a few people who know French! French is sort of an optional or an elective subject that one can take.. Since it turns out to be the third language/ in some cases 4th, it’s actually not given much attention.

Two people I know who love french are some of the loveliest people in my life whose presence I most certainly cherish. One is the author of the post I just shared. The other is my boyfriend.

I read this post when she published it and it just filled this silly head of mine with so many thoughts that I couldn’t gather them right away.

Learning a new language isn’t a process it’s an emotion. I had never looked at it this way until I read excerpts from Jhumpa Lahiri’s new book In Other Words that is her experience of writing in Italian (she’s an American whose roots are from India, her parents being Bengali

I realise that learning a new language sparks a new sense of curiosity. More like a new place to live in.

I don’t know when and how but learning a new language is definitely on my bucket list.

Thanks Sonali for giving us this much needed dose of optimism and self love. We in this space are always looking for such bits of joy! Love xx

2 thoughts on “On learning a new language

  1. You’re so right! By the way I love your blog.. I get a lot of free time specially during weekends and I stay alone so I might as well try cooking.. You’re helping a lot of hopeless people like me! Love xx

  2. You are absolutely welcome
    Thanks for all the praise and for linking my article.
    I agree that learning a language is like an emotion. Maybe that is what separates the dialects.
    We have “tikhat(spicy) marathi” in some districts of Maharashtra whereas in other regions we have “god(sweet) Marathi”

Leave a Reply

