Sometimes

image

Sometimes I feel like I’m lost
I can’t find the right music on my phone
A song that might lull me back to sleep
Before I find it, your thoughts creep in
And I’m awake, I’m scared

Sometimes I laugh even when I don’t mean it
I paint it on me as if I were a mannequin
I’m confused, I don’t know where to go
I know I can’t let the world know
So I laugh, through my melancholy

Sometimes I want to cry but just can’t
My tears fight with me, they’ve been trained to hide
They’re stubborn, they won’t let go
The same way I can’t let you go
Hence I stare, unblinkingly watch the ceiling

Sometimes I’m happy and I don’t know why
I feel that you’re here, I feel your love
I’m at peace, I’m contended
I don’t feel like a part of me is missing
And I paint the world in my own colours

How strange is mankind, this is what I feel sometimes
Searching happiness outside of us
Even when we know that it lies inside
Nobody will hurt you as much as you will hurt yourself

One thought on “Sometimes

Leave a Reply

