Can we ever be enough?

I comb my hair a million times
Stop my tears, fake a smile
Look at the ground, take small strides
But I know I can never be enough

I look too thin or I look too fat
Her voice is bad, her chest is flat
I run when I can, if not I drag
But I know I can never be enough

My eyes swell, my flesh rots
Her dress is too tight, what boyfriend she sought
Can’t believe what life being a girl has brought
But I know I can never be enough

I could be dark or white or pale
No matter what, same is the tale
Don’t say a word, just do as they say
Anyway you will never be enough

Oh you like that? That’s what girls like
Isn’t being a girl shameful, directly implied
Well it is but it comes with no shock
Because they know you will never be enough

We dream of love and horses and a prince
But all we do is cry and then wince
Nobody is rescued unless you put a fight
For them you will never be enough

They talk of equality, that sons and daughters are same
But if something goes wrong, it’s the girl that they blame
Whether you want or not, you are burnt in the flame
Of the illusion that you’ll never be enough

It’s fine if they wanna lie and cheat
What really matters is your heart that beats
When you fly, all of it shall take a backseat
Who cares if they think that you’ll never be enough.

You are enough. You are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

