The Girl In Red Heels XIII

She was inside the board room.. I waited outside in the basement.. I was sweating profusely.. All the air conditioning in the world wasn’t enough. I had spent the whole Sunday working at home so that I could take a leave today. My thoughts were like a whirlwind in my head.. From the nervousness of the presentation to the unexpected encounter we had that Saturday night. I couldn’t just stop thinking about it. She is my friend. I have helped her all this while. I don’t want her to feel that I’m trying to get something out of this. “No”
The receptionist looked daggers at me.

An hour had passed. Where is she? Is there something wrong? All of a sudden there was a thud, the door opened.

“Tatiana!” She looked devastated, her cheek red, she had certainly cried. She didn’t utter a word. She kept walking until she collapsed on her red heels and I had to hold her.
“Baby?” And the moment I looked into her eyes she sobbed, she let out a loud howl I’ll never ever forget. My mind was running nuts. Nothing worked?

“Tatiana?”

“We’ve done it Zee! We’ve done it”

And I took her into a warm embrace. There were people ogling at us but it didn’t matter. Nothing mattered. We had won. She had got it. 

We got back home. She went to her apartment, I came to mine. We said our goodbyes. She was gone now. She took all the passion, all the enthusiasm away with her. Now what? Detachment. Detached from everything as I always was. Well.. It’s okay.. It was worth all the trouble. I had learnt a lot. I had a good time. I helped someone get what they want. That is what mattered.

At evening I went to the beach. Only the sea absorbs my feelings. These weird wandering feelings. The fact is that she had not left me thirsty or wanting for something. No it wasn’t that. Although it had been just six hours and I already missed her.

It was 8pm on a Monday evening. Hardly some crowd around. I removed my sandals as I walked. Ahh the sand felt like heaven under my feet..

“Well you dawned on me , you bet I felt it”I sang, my favourite song
“I tried to be chill but you’re so hot that I melted, I felt right through the cracks and I’m trying to get back. Before the cool dawn run out I’d be giving it my bestest. Nothing’s gonna stop us but divine intervention. Ouch!!!!!!” Something had struck my leg! Hurts hurts hurts real bad!
THE RED HEEL! I felt dizzy. My phone rang.
“Hello” I said suppressing the ache
“Am I speaking to Mr. Zeeshan?”
“Yes” I wasn’t in any mood for any conversation
“You are a complete asshole. ”
“What!”
I looked up only to see Tatiana in front of me, smiling with one heel in her hand.
“Damn you” picking up the heel

We walked for almost half a kilometer in complete silence.
” I can’t . I can’t think of life without you. No I don’t feel like there are butterflies in my stomach. In fact I hate butterflies. Nobody plays the violin when you’re around and I don’t feel any fire burning stomach burning whatever! But yes I do feel I’m complete with you! That you could make me a better person! That I could love you from my soul needing, needing nothing in return. Only your happiness. I want to kiss every wound you ever had, look at every scar and tell you how beautiful it is and.. And let your strengths give me strength. ” I had said everything in a breath

What did I do! What the hell did I do!

She looked.. Blank.. Damn I felt I had screwed it wasn’t in my control anyway.
“I don’t like butterflies too!” She said and pulled into the best hug one could ever have. There was never a distance between our hearts. She always understood me, I was always there for her. Now there was no distance between our bodies. I felt her warm cheek against mine. She was happy. I was the happiest man alive.

image

Leave a Reply

